Goal Wicket

Club World Club fixtures, schedule and more

The FIFA Club World Cup is gearing up for its grandest showdown in Morocco from February 1 to 11, with seven top club teams competing for the coveted title of world champion. The participants consist of the reigning champions of each region of the world, plus an extra slot that was initially reserved for the host nation. However, this spot was reassigned after Morocco’s own champion team Wydad Casablanca also claimed the African championship title.

On January 13, the 2023 tournament draw was conducted (streamed live on FIFA+) and the seven teams learned their journey towards the world championship. This 2023 edition marks the final one under the current format, paving the way for a new and expanded version in June 2025.

Morocco is hosting the Club World Cup for the first time since 2014 and was chosen as the 2023 host only two months prior to the tournament. The matches will be played in two cities: Tangier (Stade Ibn Batouta) and Rabat (Prince Moulay Abdellah Stadium).

Only seven knockout matches will be played to determine the successor of the 2022 champions, Chelsea. In case of a draw after regulation, extra time and penalties (if necessary) will be utilized to determine a winner, excluding the third-place match which will go straight to penalties. Get ready for a thrilling tournament as the world’s best clubs battle it out for the ultimate title.Top of Form

2023 FIFA Club World Cup match schedule

Date Round Match
Wed, Feb. 1 1st Rd Al Ahly vs. Auckland City
Sat, Feb. 4 2nd Rd Seattle Sounders vs. Al Ahly/Auckland
Sat, Feb. 4 2nd Rd Wydad Casablanca vs. Al Hilal
Tue, Feb. 7 Semi Flamengo vs. Wydad/Al Hilal
Wed, Feb. 8 Semi Seattle/Al Ahly/Auckland vs. Real Madrid
Sat, Feb. 11 3rd Place Semifinal 1 loser vs. Semifinal 2 loser
Sat, Feb. 11 Final Semifinal 1 winner vs. Semifinal 2 winner


Teams in 2023 FIFA Club World Cup

The 2023 tournament is set to feature seven clubs from different parts of the world. These clubs have been chosen as the champions of their respective continents and an extra spot was reserved for the host nation’s champion. However, this spot has been reassigned due to some changes.

Wydad Casablanca, the champions of Morocco, were initially set to participate as the host nation’s representative. But they also won the African Champions League, securing their place in the FIFA Club World Cup as African champions. This meant that their position as the host nation’s representative had to be passed on to the runners-up of the African Champions League, Al Ahly of Egypt.


Region Club How Qualified
Africa Wydad Casablanca (Morocco) CAF Champions League winners
Africa Al Ahly (Egypt) CAF Champions League runners-up

(Assigned host nation berth)

Asia Al Hilal (Saudi Arabia) AFC Champions League winners
Europe Real Madrid (Spain) UEFA Champions League winners
N. America Seattle Sounders (USA) CONCACAF Champions League winners
Oceania Auckland City (New Zealand) OFC Champions League
S. America Flamengo (Brazil) CONMEBOL Copa Libertadores winners


2023 FIFA Club World Cup fixtures schedule

Date   Round Match Time (GMT / ET)
Wed, Feb. 1 1st Rd Al Ahly vs. Auckland City 19:00 / 14:00
Date   Round Match Time (GMT / ET)
Sat, Feb. 4 2nd Rd Wydad Casablanca vs. Al Hilal 14:30 / 09:30
Sat, Feb. 4 2nd Rd Seattle Sounders vs. Al Ahly/Auckland City 17:30 / 12:30
Date Round Match Time (GMT / ET)
Tue, Feb. 7 Semifinal Flamengo vs. Wydad/Al Hilal 19:00 / 14:00
Wed, Feb. 8 Semifinal Seattle/Al Ahly/Auckland vs. Real Madrid 19:00 / 14:00
Date Round Match Time (GMT / ET)
Sat, Feb. 11 3rd Place Semi 1 loser vs.  Semi 2 loser 15:30 / 10:30


Date Round Match Time (GMT / ET)
Sat, Feb. 11 Final Semi 1 winner vs. Semi 2 winner 19:00 / 14:00

FIFA Club World Cup champions all-time

Between the years 1960 to 2004, the best club teams from Europe and South America went head-to-head in a single match competition called the Intercontinental Cup. This event was widely recognized as the ultimate showdown to determine the world’s best club team. Out of the 43 editions held, 21 times a European club emerged victorious, while South American clubs claimed the title 22 times.

However, in 2000, FIFA decided to expand the competition and include clubs from other continents, resulting in the creation of the FIFA Club World Cup. After a hiatus due to the collapse of FIFA’s marketing partner, the tournament was resumed in 2005 and officially replaced the Intercontinental Cup.

Since the current format of the FIFA Club World Cup was introduced, Spanish powerhouse Real Madrid has claimed the trophy a record four times, and they aim to add a fifth victory in 2023. Below is a complete list of all the winners and runners-up of the FIFA Club World Cup since 2000.

 FIFA Club World Cup winners all-time

Year Host Winner Score Runner-Up
2000 Brazil Corinthians 0-0

(4-3 PKs)

Vasco da Gama
2005 Japan Sao Paulo 1-0 Liverpool
2006 Japan Internacional 1-0 Barcelona
2007 Japan AC Milan 4-2 Boca Juniors
2008 Japan Man United 1-0 LDU Quito
2009 UAE Barcelona 2-1


2010 UAE Inter Milan 3-0 TP Mazembe
2011 Japan Barcelona 4-0 Santos
2012 Japan Corinthians 1-0 Chelsea
2013 Morocco Bayern Munich 2-0 Raja Casablanca
2014 Morocco Real Madrid 2-0 San Lorenzo
2015 Japan Barcelona 3-0 River Plate
2016 Japan Real Madrid 4-2


Kashima Antlers
2017 UAE Real Madrid 1-0 Gremio
2018 UAE Real Madrid 4-1 Al-Ain
2019 Qatar Liverpool 1-0


2020 Qatar Bayern Munich 1-0 Tigres UANL
2022 UAE Chelsea 2-1




Leave a Reply

About Us

A small effort to unite worldwide fans of Football and Cricket.

Recent Article

Follow Us

Sign up for our Newsletter